Getting back in the weight loss game.

I haven’t blogged in months, but now things have changed. I’m not going to say things are getting better, but changed is a good word. I want to start blogging on a more regular basis, not so people can read it, but more because I enjoy it and I need somewhere to put my thoughts.
For the past year and a half, I’ve been losing weight. I went from weighing over 320 pounds down to around 200 pounds. This is good, I won’t say it isn’t, but my weight loss is stopping and I’m getting frustrated. My body isn’t losing the 5 pounds or more a week like I was used to. I’m not giving up, I will lose the last 60 pounds. My problem is that I have no one to talk to about “health stuff” and nutrition. My family isn’t very healthy and most of them don’t want to hear about things my inner fitness nut has to say. I have been fighting this weight loss battle alone and will continue to do so. I usually track my progress on my calendar, but I want to bring it to the web and send it into cyberspace to make me more accountable for my eating and exercise. Good thing I already had this blog, I’m going to turn it into a temporary weight loss tracker for all the world to see. It feels a bit awkward posting my weight on the net, so I will probably do my BMI or waist measurement to track my progress. In reality, I weigh daily because I’m such a control freak and don’t like being surprised in any way, shape or form. I workout 6 days a week, have a personal trainer 2 times a week, and eat mostly healthy. That’s nothing mind blowing, I’m just mentioning that in case someone is curious how often I exercise and so people know it’s not strictly me changing my food intake.
Today I jogged and walked a total of 6 miles at the gym, yay for me. I’m recovering from a nasty respiratory thing and when I try to jog more than about half a mile I get coughing fits. That’s no excuse not to exercise though. My BMI today is 33.4, not cool. This puts me into the Obesity range, anything 30 or higher. I’m not the trainwreck I used to be, but I still have that chunky middle. People don’t stare at me at the stores or make cow noises like they did when I was much heavier, but I still feel like the fat on me has worn out it’s welcome.
I’m debating about setting mini goals and then trying to achieve them. Mini goals were never my thing, I always liked the big picture. I think this week I will set a mini goal. Let’s say for this week, my goal will be to get my BMI from 33.4 to 32.0. Is that in the realm of possibilities? Yes, as long as I eat healthy and get back onto my exercise routine. I should be able to get back on track since I’m feeling much better after my sickness. I should also mention that I don’t do anything extreme. I eat 3 meals a day and 2 snacks, I don’t barf up anything, take diet pills, or starve myself. I’m a curvy girl and a former fat girl, there is no way I’m going to deliberately deprive myself of food.
One week, one week to make my BMI go down 1.4 points through proper diet and exercise. Any words of wisdom? Weight loss or exercise tips you’ve learned in your life?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

