Imaginary Ownership

Today I was the victim of something I’ve never experienced before. I was the victim of imaginary ownership. Imaginary ownership is when someone thinks something of public use is theirs…it really isn’t, at least not permanently. I know this happens in school. “Hey! that’s MY seat!, “That’s MY table!”, but my particular experience was at the gym.
I went to the gym around 12:30pm, I always go around this time on Fridays because 1) I’m off by then and 2) there is almost no one there so I have free pick of the equipment. Today I decided to use one of the many ellipticals. I finished my hour of elliptical goodness and all of a sudden, this woman comes up to me, grabs my arm, points to my stat screen and asks “Are you done yet? I have been waiting for 30 minutes and really need to get my workout done yeah?” Startled(and a bit irritated that a stranger decided to touch me), I rip my earbuds out and say “What? Yes I’m done just give me a second please.” She sighs and takes the hands on hips, angry glare. As I’m cleaning off my machine for this woman, I glance down the row of ellipticals. There are 8 of them, all exactly the same as the one I was on. They all have a little TV, fan, and water bottle holder on them. Nothing makes the machine I was on stand out from the others. I couldn’t figure out why this woman wanted the elliptical I used so bad. Did she like the smell of fresh sweat? Did she want to continue to watch the cartoon I had on and was just too lazy to find it on another TV? The elliptical had no one’s name on it, and all gym members pay the same price, I “own” it just as much as her…plus like I said there was a row of 8 and no one had come in while I was there. Imaginary ownership, do you have it? Have you ever? What do you claim ownership to that isn’t really yours?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

