Communication

You know what’s really fascinating? How everyone translates things differently. Someone can say something like “You’re the greatest girl ever, let’s be exclusive”, and that can be interpreted many different ways. The sender of the verbal message might mean it one way, and due to the wording they chose, it could have conveyed something different to the receiver. It could mean:
1. I like you, we should be exclusive in the future.
2. I like you, let’s be exclusive right now.
3. He likes me and wants to date only me.
4. He likes me and is contemplating making me his one and only in the future.
5. Heh heh, if I say this line then I’ll get to keep dating her.
6. I like you, but I don’t want to come right out and ask you to be my girlfriend.
Those are the ones I came up with off the top of my head, I welcome any other suggestions. Now, I don’t normally analyze what people say, unless of course I screwed up and severely misinterpreted their words…which I did. I thought the gentleman was saying that he likes me and wants us to both date no one but each other. That’s not what the sender had intended, oops. The sender was trying to convey something like “I like you, I want you for my serious relationship while I still date other females, ignore you for a week, and then have your phone call picked up by my bed buddy while I’m showering”. Silly Amanda, I called at a bad time to confirm date night plans. He did call me back, what a sweetheart. “I thought you wanted to be exclusive?”, I asked. “Oh…yeah about that…”, I hung up. I don’t have the time or patience for random mind games, I have crosswords and sudokus for that. To anyone in the dating world, single or taken, be open, honest and upfront with the one(s) you’re interested in. If you want them for something serious, tell them plain and simple what you’re wanting. If you’re more of an intimate activities type of person, then tell them straight out. Do you enjoy dating for fun and meeting new people? Then make sure your dates know that. I’ll be the first to admit that I haven’t a clue what I’m wanting, but at least I’m honest and tell people that I want to get to know them and see what develops. Any thoughts/opinions about verbal communication? Have you ever severely misinterpreted someone? Do you enjoy sending vague verbal messages to people?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment